Veterinarians recognised in Queen's Birthday Honours

11 Jun 2020

The Australian Veterinary Association (AVA) would like to congratulate the six veterinarians recognised in this year's Queen's Birthday Honours.

Dr Michael Banyard and Dr Ray Ferguson were awarded the Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for their contributions to veterinary science, while Dr Michele Cotton, Dr Denis Napthine, Dr David Shultz, and Professor Elizabeth Tudor all received honours for significant service within their particular veterinary fields.

Dr Michael Banyard has made a lifelong contribution to the pursuit of scientific knowledge in the veterinary field. His extensive work on infectious diseases resulted in Dr Banyard helping federal government in researching the effect of endemic, or exotic diseases, in wildlife and feral animals. He recently finished up an extended term as president of the AVA’s Australian Veterinary Conservation Biology group, where he made significant contributions to the understanding of our country’s natural ecosystems and the human impact on those systems. Dr Banyard served as President of the AVA from 1994 to 1995.

Dr Ray Ferguson helped establish the Australian Greyhound Veterinarians group in 1986, seeing a need to expand the level of veterinary knowledge of greyhounds, while working with the racing industry to improve animal welfare standards. Dr Ferguson played a hands-on role in the removal of the anabolic steroids from the industry and is today seen as the pre-eminent expert on the racing greyhound in Australia. Dr Ferguson also lectures at the University of Melbourne’s Veterinary School.

Dr Michele Cotton was posthumously awarded the Order of Australia Medal (AM) for significant service to veterinary science, education, and professional organisations. The achievements of Dr Cotton, who passed away in January of this year, can barely be summarised within a single press release.

Her work in Sydney, Seattle, Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Zimbabwe over 45 years left an indelible footprint on the international veterinary community. Dr Cotton co-founded Global Veterinary Solutions, an Australian consultancy that seeks to promote non-traditional veterinary roles and served as a board member of AVA and committee member for the Australian Veterinary Conservation Biology group.

Dr David Schultz was awarded the Order of Australia Medal (AM) for his significant service to veterinary medicine, zoological societies and philanthropy, while Professor Elizabeth Tudor recognised for her significant service to veterinary science, tertiary education, and animal welfare. The Honourable Dr Denis Napthine was recognised for his distinguished service to the people and Parliament of Victoria, veterinary science, and the community.

Australian Veterinary Conservation Biology and Australian Greyhound Veterinarians are special interest groups (SIG) of the Australian Veterinary Association. 

Congratulations to all those who received awards in recognition of their service to veterinary science and animal health.

For further information and requests for interviews contact the AVA media office on 0439 628 898 or

The Australian Veterinary Association (AVA) is the only national association representing veterinarians in Australia. Founded in 1921, the AVA today represents 9000 members working in all areas of animal science, health, and welfare.